Congratulations to the 2024 scholarship award winners!

Alva Whitney Memorial Graduate Scholarship: Tyler Kleinsasser

John Manson/Les Sperling Graduate Scholarship: Megan Bynoe

Jack Ryan Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship: Kyle Duerr

J. Stephen Duerr Undergraduate Scholarship: Gabe Decker

Richard Bradley Undergraduate Scholarship: Sean Remillard

John Manson/Les Sperling Undergraduate Scholarship: Slater Fisch

Strohl Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship* - Jonathan Benderly-Kemen

Board of Directors Undergraduate Scholarship: Kristen Lavallee

Sal Monte High School Scholarship: Jack Barsotti

Francis McAndrew High School Scholarship: Katie Lavallee

*This year we have a special one-time scholarship award generously donated in memory of Clair L. "Bud" Strohl Jr., who passed away on April 11, 2024 at the age of 82. For most of his life, he worked as an engineer designing life-saving medical devices used throughout the world. He worked with Velico for seven years and was a key contributor to the development efforts for Spray Dried Plasma. He was instrumental in the development and manufacturing of the Plasma Drying Chamber, Plasma Dryer, and Sealer. Clair was always upbeat and would help you out on a moment's notice, said his work colleagues. Throughout the medical community he was known as Mr. Super Colossal, his favorite phrase if you asked him how he was doing. He will be greatly missed by all.

Many thanks to Velico and the Strohl family for their generosity.

All other scholarship awards are disbursed from the Gerson-Riley Endowment Fund in honor or memorial of section members who devoted much time to advancing the plastics industry. You can read more about some of them on our website: https://spe-pma.org/history/